Alex Bayer

Bassist - Composer

Picture by Lukas Diller

Volker Heuken Sextett

With his new sextet viphraphonist Volker Heuken presents his Portugal Suite. His colorful, lyrical but also energetic compositions with earworm potential portray different places, moods and emotions of Portugal. The timbres of piano and vibraphone merge, saxophone and trombone alternate between melody and accompaniment roll, while the impulsive grooves and instinctive spontaneity of bass and drums complete the warm, multifaceted sound of the ensemble.

Julian Bossert – Saxophone
Antonia Hausmann – Trombone
Volker Heuken – Vibraphone
Lukas Grossmann – Piano
Alex Bayer – Bass
Jan F. Brill – Drums